Topic: How to build this strategy?

Hello everybody.
I am a total newbie, both for Forex trading and for this forum.
It all sounds really exciting and promising! But I have a lot to learn....
Maybe someone can help me in finding a way to develop the following strategy:

If the day before the trade the range is higher than 140 pips, I would like to enter the day after, if and only if the price is 140 pips or more higher than the day's low (long condition) or 140 pips or more lower than the day's high (short condition). Then, I would like to exit the next day (i.e. the day after the enter), at the end of the day, unless a 60 pips loss comes out.

I have tried to implement this in the following way:

http://s1.postimage.org/1rzdtd3k4/2011_07_27_164645.jpg

I know for sure that something is already wrong, for example in the Opening Logic Condition the Bar Range indicator should always rise, but in the strategy I don't have this as a costraint (is there any more suitable indicator, or combination to do that?).

Thanks in advance for your expert help!

Post's attachments

2011-07-27_164645.jpg
2011-07-27_164645.jpg 59.16 kb, file has never been downloaded. 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

Re: How to build this strategy?

Hi and welcome to the forum,

This is what I've come up with:
A same direction signal - Does nothing
An opposite direction signal - Does nothing
Permanent Stop Loss - 60
Permanent Take Profit - None

[Opening Point of the Position]
Previous High Low
     Enter long at the previous low
     Base price  -  High and Low
     Vertical shift  -  140

[Opening Logic Condition]
Average True Range
     [ A ]   The ATR is higher than the Level line
     Smoothing method  -  Simple
     Base price  -  Bar range
     Smoothing period  -  1
     Level [pips]  -  140
     Use previous bar value  -  Yes

The closing is a bit tricky (Day Closing at the next day), so I suggest try different things -  which works best.