Topic: Different results with exact same system & data

I'm new to the strategy builder, but I've encountered something odd. I built a strategy using the data provided by FSB and saved it. I then built the exact same strategy with all the same parameters using the same currency pair and time frame and again using the exact same data provided by FSB. In other words, everything was exactly the same. However, the back test results were off by a good 20%.

I understand differences in results when using data from different providers, and understand getting different results when using a strategy live. But how can the results be different if I back test identical systems on the exact same data?

Re: Different results with exact same system & data

Probably there is a difference in some strategy parameter. Trading sizes for example.
It's possible also some double value parameter to differ with a small value not shown on the data fields.

Make a zip with both strategies and we'll find the difference.

Hi, thanks, yes, I did find discrepencies, my mistake. They match now. But I have an additional question:

When I build a strategy for a currency pair in a particular time frame, can I just change the currency pair and time frame to see how the strategy would work for the other pair or time frame? Or do I need to build the strategy from the ground up for each particular pair or time frame to see how it performs?

Hi bfleming,
if a strategy is good she works one more timeframes and currency pairs. You don´t need to build a new strategy for every timeframe and curency pairs.

For example:
Step1:
You build a strategy for EURUSD H1.

Step2:
Check if strategy is profitabel on M30 and H4

Step3:
Check if strategy is profitable on GBPUSD and USDCHF....

Step4:
Make a WalkForwardTest for this strategy

But most of the strategies I have seen don´t fullfill all 4 steps.
thomas

https://monitortool.jimdofree.com/