Topic: Swing Highs or Lows as an entry condition

Hi all,

First I want to thank Popov and all the people involved in the development of this great software.

I'm not an expert programmer but I'm capable of creating my own MT4 indicators and now I'm starting to create indicators for FSB.

My first indicator open positions when the most recent swing high or low is reached, at the moment it only gives FSB and opening and closing point for the position.

My logic for a swing high is a candle which high is above the closest two on both sides (inverse logic applies for a swing low). So you have to wait for at least 2 candles before getting a confirmation that you have a valid swing high/low.

I need some help to solve a problem, when a swing is confirmed, the tester goes back to the swing candle and opens a position there (so far I can avoid the problem by adding 1 pip to the vertical shift but could be better without the issue).

That's it, I'll appreciate all the suggestions/complains you have.

Thanks a lot.

Post's attachments

Recent Swing High Low.cs 10.26 kb, 41 downloads since 2010-11-11 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

Re: Swing Highs or Lows as an entry condition

Hi, I made it just thinking about the backtester, I really think it'll have problems with live market as it is; I'll test it and modify if needed.

You might try the Fractal indicator, built in with FSB. It does the same thing of looking for a high that is higher than the previous and next 2 bars. It has several more cases or types of swings, but you could customize it by removing the extra cases you don't want by commenting out Fractal Types 2-7.

For the Recent Swing High Low indicator, I think the problem is at line 91-92 and 101-102:

if (High[iBar] >= High[iBar - 1] && High[iBar] > High[iBar - 2] &&  // Check 2 candles to the left
                        High[iBar] >= High[iBar + 1] && High[iBar] > High[iBar + 2])    // Check 2 candles to the right